Posted by: Spiff The Ninja | February 13, 2013

To balance or not to balance?

I know, it’s been a while since my last blog and all 12 of my faithful followers have missed me. ( ok, so there’s only one of you actually following .)

Anyways, I’ve been thinking about balance. “Achieve better balance” is one banks motto, eat a balanced diet, balance your workout routine, balance your lifestyle, balance your work/home life balance balance balance…

How can we achieve this balance, when the economy, the government, and the media… all seem to work counter actively towards this balance? Food that’s good for you is lore expensive. Education that will get you a job that will pay a wage so you can eat the good food, puts you so far in debt it takes you 15-20 years to pay off, before you can eat the good food. Some people out there, can’t actually afford the education because of work and children. The cost of child care is rising, and student loans are dwindling, and grants? A thousand bucks? Thanks for one month of living. There’s no balance there. There’s a great division happening between the haves and the have-nots. The majority of people I know can’t even afford to contribute to an rrsp. So I know they’re not planning on retiring. Or maybe they are but they know they can’t afford it. It’s bad when a dual income only allows you to meet your minimum credit card payments. I took my friend out to dinner, and payed with my debit card. He returned the favor by treating me… The difference was, he put less than $20 on a credit card. I know I would have been in that same state too, if not worse if I hadn’t been blessed with family who was smart with their money. Lesson learned.
(I’m not trying to root my horn here, there’s been times when I got paid and bills have left me with enough to buy KD for the week… So I know where he’s at because I’ve been there)

Personally, I don’t think there can be balance. What I think needs to be achieved on a personal level is strength. The strength not to spend what we don’t have, the strength to stick to a plan, the strength to do what we have to do.

We also need to achieve harmony. For those of you who think peace an harmony are the same, they’re not. Peace is kin to being cordial to someone you don’t like. Harmony is the ability to work with that person to achieve a goal. We must achieve harmony in ourselves with our environment, our relationships, our lives, and habits.

When strength and harmony are achieved, this balance that everyone promotes to lure you into their yoga, martial arts classes or banks… Is a natural byproduct.

Be strong. Eat as well as you can. Give up simple sugars. Be kind to everyone!

Leave a Reply

Categories

